Gender Studies Program

Gender Studies

In 1997 the ‘Gender Studies’ program was opened under the umbrella of the department of Sociology and Political Science at EUSP with support from the Ford Foundation. The goal of the program is to contribute to research in the field of Gender Studies as well as offer student courses in the field.

    Work of the program:
  • Research connected with gender problematic
  • Preparing and teaching lecture courses on gender theory and research methodology
  • Establishing connections and nurturing cooperation among researchers from across Russia and the near and far abroad whose research is also tied to gender studies.

From the very beginning of the Program’s inception, its fundament task was to develop and institutionalize a Master’s program in gender studies under the umbrella of the EUSP department of Sociology and Political Science. Today the program offers students courses in methodology and theory of gender relations in Soviet and post-Soviet society, as well as strategies and methods for studying the gender order.

Professors in the program organize conferences and theoretical and methodological seminars with participation of colleagues from the near and far abroad. Thanks to the Gender Studies program, a circle of young researchers (students and graduates of the program) has formed and is actively involved in the study of gender issues and gender aspects of social processes in contemporary Russian society. In the last few years the majority of the students in the program have successfully defended MA theses and four graduates have defended Candidates’ dissertation on gender subjects.

Courses offered in the program include the following: Social Theory in Gender Perspective, Feminist Theory in the Context of Western and Russian Culture, The Feminist Movement and Feminist Theory, Contemporary Research on Gender Relations in Russia, Methodology of Qualitative Research. Professors offer advising for Candidates and Masters students in the program. Each year 3-4 students defend MA theses in Gender Studies and many of them continue on to dissertation projects in the field.

Since 2002 graduates of the Gender Studies Program have participated in the Regional Network Program (financed by the Carnegie Corporation), teaching courses in Gender Studies at the State Universities of Petrozavodsk, Tversk and Kazan. The Gender Studies Program at EUSP actively participates in coordination and cooperation with the network of Gender Studies programs throughout the country (St. Petersburg-Samara-Tver).

Currently research in the Program involves the topics of sexual and reproductive health, the reorganization of the private spheres, and ethnic particularities in gender relations. These projects are supported with the help of the Carnegie Foundation, the Finnish Academy of Sciences through the Tempus program, and others. To date, the Program has published three anthologies on gender themes, and has also produced over 100 articles concerning gender problematics in Russian and international periodical publications.

 

Found a typo? Please select it and press Ctrl + Enter.

Программа «Гендерные исследования»

Программа Гендерные исследования

Программа «Гендерные исследования» была открыта на базе факультета политических наук и социологии ЕУСПб осенью 1997 года при поддержке Фонда Форда. Программа была поддержана профессурой Новартис «Социология общественного здоровья и гендера», учрежденной в 2012 году. Основной целью Программы является работа в области гендерных исследований и преподавание курсов по гендерным исследованиям и общественному здоровью.

 

Основные направления деятельности:

  • Исследования, связанные с гендерной проблематикой
  • Подготовка и преподавание учебных курсов по теории и методологии гендерных исследований
  • Формирование и обеспечение эффективного взаимодействия отечественных исследователей и исследователей из ближнего и дальнего зарубежья, интересы которых сосредоточены вокруг gender studies


С самого начала работы Программы основной задачей стала институционализация и развитие магистерской программы по гендерным исследованиям на базе факультете политических наук и социологии ЕУСПб. Сейчас в рамках программы слушателям предлагается цикл курсов, посвященных методологии и теории гендерных исследований в социологии, специфике формирования и трансформации гендерных отношений в советском и постсоветском обществе, стратегиям и методам изучения гендерного порядка, социологии медицины и здоровья.


Сотрудники Программы организуют конференции и теоретико-методологические семинары с участием коллег из дальнего и ближнего зарубежья. Благодаря работе Программы, сформировался круг молодых исследователей (слушателей и выпускников Программы), которые активно занимаются изучением гендерной проблематики, гендерных аспектов социальных процессов в современном российском обществе. За прошедший период большинство слушателей Программы успешно защитили магистерские диссертации, четыре выпускника Программы защитили кандидатские диссертации по гендерной тематике.

 

В рамках программы читаются курсы: «Социальная теория в гендерной перспективе», «Феминистская теория в контексте западной и российской культуры», «Феминистское движение и феминистская теория», «Современные исследования гендерных отношений в России», «Методология качественного исследования», «Социология здоровья, медицины и гендерные отношения». Преподаватели программы проводят консультации с аспирантами и магистрантами, ежегодно слушатели Программы защищают 3-4 магистерских диссертации по гендерной проблематике, многие из них продолжают исследования по гендерной тематике в рамках своих диссертационных проектов.


Выпускники Программы в рамках проекта поддержки региональных университетов преподавали курсы по гендерным исследованиям в Петрозаводском, Тверском и Казанском государственных университетах.

В настоящее время исследовательская деятельность сотрудников, аспирантов и выпускников Программы связана с проектами по исследованию сексуального и репродуктивного здоровья, реорганизации приватной сферы, этнических особенностей гендерных отношений. Эти проекты ранее осуществлялись при поддержке фонда Карнеги, Финской Академии наук, в рамках программы «Tempus», фонда Форда, корпорации Новартис и пр. За время работы Программы было издано девять сборников по гендерной тематике, сотрудниками и аспирантами Программы опубликовано в целом более 100 статей по гендерной проблематике в российских и международных периодических изданиях.

 

Контактная информация:
тел./факс: +7 (812) 386-76-33
191187, Санкт-Петербург
Гагаринская ул., 3

 

Если заметили ошибку, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter