Center «Petersburg Judaica»

Photo Archive of S. An-sky’s Expeditions

One of the Center’s main projects from 2005 to 2009 was the study, presentation and publication of photographs from the photo archive of S. An-sky’s ethnographical expeditions. As part of this project, the Center held five exhibitions at EUSP and published five albums. Petersburg Judaica faculty members Valery Dymshits, Alexander Ivanov, Alexander Lvov and Alla Sokolova were involved the project. Each of the albums featured an introduction analyzing the photographs reproduced in that album.

An-sky’s ethnographical expeditions played a key role in the study of the ethnography and folklore of Eastern European Jews. In addition, the photographs taken during these expeditions themselves have considerable scholarly and artistic value. The publication of a significant portion of this collection, which was considered lost, was thus bound to attract notice from the scholarly community.

The photographs and articles published in the original six albums were collected in a single volume and published as the monograph album Photographing the Jewish Nation: Pictures from S. An-sky’s Ethnographic Expeditions (Brandeis University Press, 2009). David G. Roskies and Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett, leading experts in the history, ethnography and culture of Eastern European Jews, penned the annotations on the book’s cover. Photographing the Jewish Nation was warmly received in the American press, and was a finalist for the 2010 Jewish Book Award.

List of reviews of Photographing the Jewish Nation: Pictures from S. An-Sky’s Ethnographic Expeditions

 

 

 

Wed 4.00-8.00 pm

Sat 1.00-6.00 pm

Found a typo? Please select it and press Ctrl + Enter.

Центр «Петербургская иудаика»

Фотоархив экспедиций Ан-ского

Одним из основных проектов центра в период с 2005 по 2009 г. было изучение, презентация и публикация фотографий из коллекции «Фотоархив экспедиций Ан-ского». В рамках этого проекта Центр провел в Европейском университете пять выставок и издал пять альбомов-каталогов. В проекте участвовали сотрудники «Петербургской иудаики» В. Дымшиц, А. Иванов, А. Львов, А. Соколова. Каждому из альбомов была предпослана статья, анализирующая собранные в нем фотографии.

Экспедиции Ан-ского сыграли ключевую роль в истории изучения этнографии и фольклора евреев Восточной Европы. Кроме того, сами фотографии, выполненные в ходе экспедиций, обладают значительной научной и художественною ценностью. Таким образом, введение в оборот значительного фрагмента этой, считавшейся исчезнувшей, фотоколлекции, не могло пройти незамеченным для научного сообщества.

alt

alt

alt

alt

alt

alt

 

Avrutin Front


В конце 2009 г. фотографии и статьи, опубликованные в шести альбомах, были собраны под одной обложкой и выпущены в виде монографического альбома “Photographing the Jewish Nation. Pictures from S. An-sky’s Ethnographic Expeditions. Brandeis University Press, University Press of New England. 2009”. Аннотации на обложке альбома принадлежат перу ведущих специалистов по истории, этнографии и культуре евреев Восточной Европы проф. Девида Роскиса (David G. Roskies) и проф. Барабары Киршенблат-Гимблет (Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett). Этот альбом имел значительный резонанс. О нем появилось несколько комплиментарных отзывов в американской прессе. В 2010 году альбом «Photographing the Jewish Nation» стал финалистом Jewish Book award.

List of reviews on Photographing the Jewish Nation: Pictures from S. AnSky's Ethnographic Expeditions

“Jewish Daily Forward”, October 20, 2009
“S. An-sky: More Than Just 'The Dybbuk'”
By Benjamin Ivry

“Tablet Magazine”, February 1, 2010
“Still Lives. Newly discovered photographs shed light on daily existence in the Pale of Settlement”
By Julie Surbin

“Jewish Edias Daily”, June 18, 2010
“Photographic Memory”
By Yehudah Mirsky

“Jewish Review of Books”, No 2, Summer 2010
“The Weaver”
By Gabriella Safran

Если заметили ошибку, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter